Inside The Hang Suite: BOP Chapter 2 (Repost)

June 10, 2008 at 3:20 pm (books, christianity, entertainment, faith, fiction, leisure, life, religion, spirtiuality) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Blessings of Purpose, A Novel – Chapter 2

Blogged by:  Lia Braxton (Conrad), Chanelle Edwards, Rita Miller, and Nigel Braxton

 

 

Lia:  Welcome back!  I tell you, this blog is really giving me something to look forward to.  Great idea, Alicia!  Today, I have some special guests with me.  With the exception of Rita from Chapter 1, these other two characters are introduced in Chapter 2.  My mother, Elaine, is not here with us today, but hopefully she’ll join us in later blogs. 

 

Now, let me introduce you to one of the virtuous women I know…I mean, this lady can cook, clean, and still strut in her 3-inch stilettos.  Seriously, because of Mrs. Rita Miller, I was enlightened and my life started to change in Chapter 2.  Welcome to the “Hang Suite”, Rita.

 

Rita:  Thank you, baby.  Lord, I don’t know how I let y’all talk me into this blog stuff.  I don’t even know what a “blog” is.

 

Lia:  Don’t worry, you’ll be okay.  If you can talk and type, you can blog.

 

Rita:  I don’t know about all that, but we’ll see…

 

Lia:  Now, the next person I want to introduce is another special lady in my life.  My right hand woman and play sister, Chanelle Edwards.

 

Chanelle:  Girl, you are so crazy!  Hello everyone!

 

Lia:  Last but not least, what would a “Leading Lady” be without her “Leading Man”?  And what a handsome smile he has.  Welcome the love of my life (though I didn’t know it in Chapter 2), Nigel Braxton.

 

Nigel:  Thank you, baby and I love you too!

 

Chanelle:  Oh God, don’t y’all start all that.  We haven’t even got to that part in the book.

 

Nigel:  She’s just hatin’ on us, baby.

 

Lia:  That’s okay, we love her anyway.  Now, let’s get back focused on the task at hand…a peek into Chapter 2.  Well, I’m not going to bore our audience with an interview type of structure.  I’ll just start off telling a little about what goes in Chapter 2 and my guests can jump in as they like.

 

Rita:  Good, I’ll just sit here and nod in agreement with everything you type.

 

Lia:  Oh no, you won’t get off that easy.  I’ll throw some questions at you, if I have to.

Okay…Chapter 2.  This was a big day for me, thanks to Rita. 

 

Chanelle:  Yes, you were a ball of nerves.

 

Lia:  Yeah, you’re right.  The fear of the ‘unknown’ will do that to you. 

 

Nigel:  You didn’t seem like you were nervous about meeting me.  I was the one nervous, especially after I saw you; a vision of natural beauty.

 

Lia:  Aww, thank you, baby.

 

Chanelle:  There y’all go again—mushy, mushy.    

 

Rita:  It’s called ‘love’, Chanelle.  I don’t have anymore nephews, but Aunt Rita is going to look out for you too.  Shoot if Nigel wasn’t my nephew and I was 25 years younger I would have scooped him up for myself!

 

Chanelle:  I don’t know if I want anymore ‘hookups’.  We all know how that goes later in the book.

 

Rita:  We sure do and let’s not go there right now.  Actually, I would prefer we not go there at all.

 

Lia:  Yeah, it’s a lot of things I wish would we could skip over in this book, but we made a commitment to Alicia to help spread the word.  Luckily, we don’t have to go into too much detail. 

 

Anyway, back to Chapter 2.  To me, this chapter focused a lot on family.  Here the reader is brought into a variety of interactions between family members, which sets the stage for tests that these relationships go through in later chapters.  My mother, Elaine, makes her first appearance in this chapter and the reader gets some insight on our relationship as well.  On the note of relationships, I will add that my introduction to Nigel was not the typical “boy meets girl”, “love at first sight” encounter.

 

Nigel:  Oh, it wasn’t? 

 

Rita:  It wasn’t?

 

Lia:  God, don’t y’all jump on me!  That love at first sight stuff happens in the movies, but not in this book.  Now, I’m truly, nose wide open, head over heels in love.  After what happens in the later chapters, I must be. 

 

Chanelle:  Amen, to that!

 

Lia:  Before we end this blog, I want to take a poll.  Now that the readers know a little about how I felt about meeting Nigel, I would like to know what they think.  To the readers out there, what was your first impression of Mr. Nigel Braxton after reading Chapter 2?  Seems like a sincerely, nice guy?  Or too good to be true?  Please leave your responses below in the comment box.

 

Nigel:  Why are you putting me on the spot like that?

 

Lia:  I know you’re dying to read all the wonderful things the readers will say about you. 

 

Nigel:  All right, y’all don’t make me look bad.

 

Rita:  Nigel, baby, you have nothing to worry about.  You came into Chapter 2 and represented well.  You made me proud. 

 

Lia:  Gosh Rita, are you sure Nigel is your ‘nephew’ and not your son?  Look at him blushing.

 

Rita:  I’m sorry, I have to give him credit for all that he has accomplished.  His life could have taken a totally different route.  You know what he dealt with as a child, but I’ll let the readers find out on their own.

 

Lia:  Look at you—you have caught on real quick with the blogging.  Well, I think this will be a good point to end, unless anyone has more to add.

 

Chanelle:  I just want to say this blogging is a cool idea.  I enjoyed being a part of Lia’s story in Blessings of Purpose and encourage people to read it.  Not just because she’s my dear friend, but the spiritual messages are powerful.  At the very least, you will be entertained by all of the drama that is yet to come.

 

Nigel:  Yeah, we definitely hit some rocky spots along the way.  I’m talking boulders, not pebbles.

 

Lia:  I know that’s right!  On that note, make sure you continue to join us in the Hang Suite.  My story gets better, but unfortunately, it gets worse first.  If you’re currently reading the book, feel free to read ahead if you can’t stand the suspense.

 

Until then, God bless!  Don’t forget to tell us what you think about the ‘Leading Man’, Nigel.  Put him on blast! J

Leave a comment